Almost done... ;-)
The time is here! We are upgrading FS2004.com. Anything you post right now will not be migrated to the new forums. We expect to be done by about midnight EST. See you on the other side!

The site will remain live during this time, so please, no parties or riots.

Wondering what this is all about?

Brad and Jon
Flight Simulator 2004


» Your ad here
Flight Sim X Screenshots - refreshed every 5 minutes
More FSX screenshots
Pages: (16) [1] 2 3 ... Last »  ( Go to first unread post ) Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> ***FSX-Tweak Collection***
Mango
  Posted: Oct 13 2006, 12:13 AM
Quote Post

Orville Reincarnate
Contributor
Moderator

*******

Group: Moderator
Posts: 9,519
Member No.: 1,863
Joined: 13-September 03
Location: On my six !


Dear fellow pilots, here we want to collect all known Microsoft Flight Simulator X tweaks, tips and issues to improve our simulator experience.

This page will be updated frequently and you are very welcome helping us to extend this list.

The FSX.cfg file is located in \Documents and Settings\<user name>\Application Data\Microsoft\FSX\ and you can open it with Notepad. It's always a good idea to backup files before altering. BTW - don't forget to save the changes you made before closing Notepad.

Please remember - you make all changes on your own risk ! user posted image





FSX.cfg Tweaks :


Autogen tweak that might help
Many of you have been frustrated that you can't control the density of autogen trees verses buildings because we only have one slider to cover both of them. Some have also been frustrated that our lowest autogen setting is more dense than FS2004 at max density.

If you add these two lines to the [TERRAIN] section of your FSX.CFG, you can define the max number of objects in a terrain cell for trees and buildings independently. The slider will scale down from the numbers you set as the slider is moved to the left. The max tree value in FSX as released is coded to default to 4500 and the building default is 3000 (as shown below) and the absolute max FSX will recognize at all is 6000. Of course if you raise the values beyond the defaults, you will obviously be increasing density and lowering fps (so don't complain if you do this...). The point in sharing this information is that with these settings you can specify what the values are yourself. I had to edit this post because of a bug. Be sure not to set either number to 0 as that will cause problems, but setting it to a very lower number will give you nearly 0 objects.

TERRAIN_MAX_AUTOGEN_TREES_PER_CELL=4500

TERRAIN_MAX_AUTOGEN_BUILDINGS_PER_CELL=3000


**********


For faster texture loading you might be able to change the TEXTURE_BANDWIDTH_MULT to a higher value. For example:

[DISPLAY]
TEXTURE_BANDWIDTH_MULT=400


**********


You might add :

[Main]
FIBER_FRAME_TIME_FRACTION=0.33

This variable determines the amount of CPU time given to loading scenery data as a fraction of the time spent rendering. For example, the default value of 0.33 means that for every 3 milliseconds spent rendering, FS will give 1 millisecond to the scenery loader. If necessary, you can use a larger value to devote more time to loading. Or, if you don't have a problem with the blurries and you want slightly higher frame rates, then you can use a smaller value.


**********


To turn off the red warning text messages, change these lines in FSX.cfg and change True to False

InfoBrakesEnable=False
InfoParkingBrakesEnable=False
InfoPauseEnable=False
InfoSlewEnable=False
InfoStallEnable=False
InfoOverspeedEnable=False


**********


Add the following Section to the FSX.CFG file

[BufferPools]
PoolSize=5000000

According to Brian at Aces this may help if you are getting stutters/pops during turns or when you pan your view around. The default is 1000000. Increasing it to 5000000 or 10000000 trades off some of your video memory against having to re-allocate these things all the time.

Attention ! On some systems this tweak can cause FPS drops and disoriented graphics. If you get in trouble, disable this entry.


**********


File Updates :


Matt Fox altered the AutogenDescriptions.spb, Materials.spb and RoofDescription.sbp files :


QUOTE
First backup AutogenDescriptions.spb located in your FSX\Autogen folder. Then unzip the file attached to this post in it's place.

What this does is dumb down your autogen trees so there are a lot fewer types of trees displayed. This is an extreme version meant as a proof of concept that basically sets one tree for each different tree category, whereas FSX default may have 10 or 20 different trees for each category. If it helps, I'm sure someone with more free time than me could come up with several different customized versions, each with a different level of complexity. It's pretty easy to adjust with the SDK.

I don't think this affects the total number of trees displayed. Just the number of different types and variations.


QUOTE
Just for kicks I tried same thing with autogen roofs. Replacing Materials.spb and RoofDescription.sbp with the ones in attached zip will decrease the variety of roofs that show on autogen buildings....I think.


You can find his complete Topic and downloads here !. Thanks Matt ! thumbsupguy.gif


**********

Mike Kelly altered the autogen tree and the cloud textures :

QUOTE
Please try the attached autogen tree textures. They improved framerates for me but your mileage may vary - post your results here.

The textures have been reduced from the originals and the DXT1 format and alpha channels have been preserved. The dimensions have been reduced by 50%. This results in a reduction in total size of the textures from 10.7MB to 3.9MB. All seasons are included.


Found here !. Thanks Mike !


**********


Useful Links :


FSInsider.com

FSX - FAQ

Unofficial Tweaks and Mods for FSX

Microsoft Support

FSX Tweak Guide.pdf


**********


Tips & Tricks :


How do you get an image of your add-on aircraft to appear with the others on the aircraft selection screen?


Changing the default FSX zoom level


To display your average framerates replace in the FSX.cfg 'LockedFrameRate=1,2' with 'AverageFrameRate=1,2'. Those with 'LockedFrameRate=2,2' can change to 'AverageFrameRate=2,2'.


The maximum, default ground texture resolution for FSX is 1 meter, the maximum default mesh resolution is 38 meter (LOD 10). To set the values higher may cause performance loss due usage of more recourses and interpolation. The higher detailed settings are provided for future developments. Further you will barely notice a difference (if any) when you reduce the mesh complexity to 60 - 70 %.


**********


Always happy landings ! plane.gif

This post has been edited by Mango on Nov 30 2006, 12:45 AM
PM
Top
Guests, join the FS2004.com community to remove this ad.

mollindz
Posted: Oct 13 2006, 02:01 AM
Quote Post

Student Pilot
**

Group: Members
Posts: 39
Member No.: 13,010
Joined: 14-August 06
Location: Nashville


Hey Mango,

Thanks for sharing all this information. One of the best things about flight simulation is the co-operative spirit of the community.

Rob
PMEmail Poster
Top
cyvr
Posted: Oct 13 2006, 02:40 AM
Quote Post

Private Pilot - VFR
***

Group: Members
Posts: 307
Member No.: 9,073
Joined: 8-November 05
Location: Canada


Can someone upload DXT1 autogen textures?
PMEmail Poster
Top
CAT19_Hitman
Posted: Oct 13 2006, 05:59 AM
Quote Post

Orville Reincarnate
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 7,794
Member No.: 3,557
Joined: 15-April 04
Location: Earth


QUOTE (Mango @ Oct 12 2006, 10:13 PM)
Mike Kelly altered the autogen tree and the cloud textures :

QUOTE
Please try the attached autogen tree textures. They improved framerates for me but your mileage may vary - post your results here.

The textures have been reduced from the originals and the DXT1 format and alpha channels have been preserved. The dimensions have been reduced by 50%. This results in a reduction in total size of the textures from 10.7MB to 3.9MB. All seasons are included.


Found here !. Thanks Mike !


**********



thumbsupguy.gif This one works really well!! thumbsupguy.gif

Added about 10FPS to an airport where I was only getting about 6FPS before installing the fix! Thanks for posting it Mango and thanks to Mike for developing it!

This post has been edited by CAT19_Hitman on Oct 13 2006, 06:11 AM
PM
Top
thesurfer
Posted: Oct 13 2006, 06:18 AM
Quote Post

Student Pilot
**

Group: Members
Posts: 86
Member No.: 12,657
Joined: 27-July 06
Location: Netherlands


Thanks for keeping the hints together Mango biggrin.gif . Although for me it isnt to succesfull. Tree/building thing is helping me a little though.
I'll check hitmans file next laugh.gif .

One thing thats make a difference with me, is turning off anti-aliasing, and deal with that seperated in my video card panel. So i locked anisotropic on 2x and interference at 2x.

If i don't do it that way fsx isnt running at all at some places.

This post has been edited by thesurfer on Oct 13 2006, 06:19 AM
PMEmail Poster
Top
gtirsmiley
Posted: Oct 13 2006, 06:54 AM
Quote Post

Airsick Passenger
*

Group: New Members
Posts: 5
Member No.: 14,106
Joined: 12-October 06
Location:


what settings should b using in the SETTINGS under FSX with all these tweaks?
PMEmail Poster
Top
Dr...Watson
Posted: Oct 13 2006, 07:05 AM
Quote Post

Airline Transport Pilot
******

Group: Members
Posts: 2,367
Member No.: 6,063
Joined: 14-February 05
Location: LSZF-Schweiz CH


QUOTE (gtirsmiley @ Oct 13 2006, 06:54 AM)
what settings should b using in the SETTINGS under FSX with all these tweaks?

None, you change the numbers in the .cfg file.

You are changing these numbers because there are no settings/sliders in the game to alter these variables.
PMEmail Poster
Top
Andydigital
Posted: Oct 13 2006, 07:19 AM
Quote Post

Private Pilot - VFR
***

Group: Members
Posts: 196
Member No.: 13,112
Joined: 18-August 06
Location: EGCC Ringway


Actually in the first post in the thread it says the Autogen sliders do scale down whatever setting you have set in your config file. I just leave my "Scenery Complexity" on "Dense", and "Autogen Density" on sparse.
PM
Top
Mango
Posted: Oct 13 2006, 10:13 AM
Quote Post

Orville Reincarnate
Contributor
Moderator

*******

Group: Moderator
Posts: 9,519
Member No.: 1,863
Joined: 13-September 03
Location: On my six !


Well, those trees give me a bigger impact than the houses. I like to see many houses, but reduced the trees to 800. With Autogen at maximum it still looks awesome and i gained frames.
PM
Top
Chris
Posted: Oct 13 2006, 01:34 PM
Quote Post

Airline Transport Pilot
formerly chris627

******

Group: Banned
Posts: 3,210
Member No.: 8,872
Joined: 23-October 05
Location: Nampa, Idaho


Hmmmm... I've tried all these tweaks but still I get horrible performance. unsure.gif
I've dumbed down my setting past medium and still I get bad performance at kboi. dry.gif
PMEmail Poster
Top
Chaos81
Posted: Oct 13 2006, 01:38 PM
Quote Post

Commercial Pilot
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,737
Member No.: 7,137
Joined: 13-June 05
Location: KC, MO


Thanks in advance for the thread Mango. Can't wait for the 17th to try it out. Although, it's going to be tough, as I'll also be playing BF2142. Ahhh....choices, choices.
PMEmail Poster
Top
kewlceo
Posted: Oct 13 2006, 01:49 PM
Quote Post

Cruising at FL130
Download Manager
Contributor

********

Group: Download Manager
Posts: 13,233
Member No.: 6,089
Joined: 17-February 05
Location: SoCal


Thanks for doing this and sharing the results, Heiko. notworthy.gif
PMUsers Website
Top
RoniisH
Posted: Oct 13 2006, 01:53 PM
Quote Post

Orville Reincarnate
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 6,949
Member No.: 7,060
Joined: 7-June 05
Location: Stockholm/Swe


Awesome stuff Mango! biggrin.gif
PMEmail PosterMSN
Top
gtirsmiley
Posted: Oct 13 2006, 02:27 PM
Quote Post

Airsick Passenger
*

Group: New Members
Posts: 5
Member No.: 14,106
Joined: 12-October 06
Location:


QUOTE (Mango @ Oct 13 2006, 10:13 AM)
Well, those trees give me a bigger impact than the houses. I like to see many houses, but reduced the trees to 800. With Autogen at maximum it still looks awesome and i gained frames.

Can you tell me what your scenary settings are and such? like this:

user posted image

And all the other settings u changed under "customize"
PMEmail Poster
Top
Granulf
Posted: Oct 13 2006, 05:58 PM
Quote Post

Private Pilot - IFR
****

Group: Members
Posts: 712
Member No.: 12,433
Joined: 11-July 06
Location: Norway


I really need help tweaking. I tried everything you listed, Mango, but I still get horrible blurred textures! sad.gif I thought they fixed this problem? I've tried just about all settings, and I'm lost now... after more than 3 years they couldn't fix something that basic??? God, I'm pissed now... Just spent my money on it...
PMEmail PosterMSN
Top

Topic Options Pages: (16) [1] 2 3 ... Last » Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll